shadow

The Nintendo Switch Preview Tour – San Francisco

Select US cities have the opportunity to try out Nintendo's latest console.


shadow

On March 3rd, Nintendo’s latest console will make its debut. This past weekend, the Nintendo Switch Preview Tour made a stop in San Francisco. It allowed attendees a first look and the opportunity to get hands on with the gaming system. The SF event was held from Friday February 24th to Sunday February 26th. The first two days were reserved for invite-only guests, while the last day was open to the public on a first-come, first served basis. My mind was not entirely made up about investing in this console prior to attending this event. Would seeing it in person sway my decision to actually purchase one once it’s released? Let’s find out.

 

Take and Play the Nintendo Switch Wherever You Go

 

The Nintendo Switch allows an easy transition from home to mobile gaming. The 2 smaller Joy-Con controllers on each side of the portable screen can be used in different ways to make your game play more enjoyable.

Different gaming modes are a clear indicator that this console was meant to be shared! Team up with others at home or online. If you have friends with the console, the systems can also be linked for group play.

Other specs:

6.2 inch touch screen with 1280 x 720 resolution.

Battery life can last over 6 hours (varies by software and usage conditions)

System contains 32GB of internal memory. Micro SDHC/XC cards up to 2TB can be inserted to expand storage space.

 

Behind the Scenes at the Nintendo Switch Preview Tour

Not gonna lie, I was extremely excited to be one of the first people to attend the first day of the Switch Preview Tour. Not only that, I got to check out the console up close before my friends, and there are a few of them that plan on buying/receiving it this week. Nintendo kept things very much on the hush with barely any attention drawn to the event’s location. Luckily, I followed the sound of the EDM music blasting and the emcees’s booming voice on the mic, which eventually led me to the venue. Although the signs leading to it were bright red, the “Nintendo” written on them was extremely small. I’m pretty sure I passed some confused and lost attendees on my way there. But I digress. After a quick scan of my ticket (thanks, Eventbrite),  I was immediately handed a freebie before making my way inside. Several of the staff greeted me as I walked down a lit up catwalk of sorts, which was surrounded by the different Switch play areas. Best thing of all was it wasn’t crowded. Less than a minute in and I’m already loving it.

 

 

Confirmed attendees were informed prior to the event that their experiences during the Nintendo Switch Preview Tour were encouraged to be shared. However, time limits were given for recording demos since some of the games are still in development.

Featured games at the Switch Preview Tour:

1-2-Switch (out March 3, 2017)

Fast RMX (out March 3, 2017)

Skylanders Imaginators (out March 3, 2017)

Snipperclips – Cut it out, together! (out March 3, 2017)

Just Dance 2017 (out March 3, 2017)

Super Bomberman R – (out March 3, 2017)

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild (out March 3, 2017)

Has Been Heroes (out March 2017)

Puyo Puyo Tetris (out April 25, 2017)

Mario Kart 8 Deluxe (out April 28, 2017)

Sonic Mania (Spring 2017 release)

ARMS (Spring 2017 release)

Splatoon 2 (Summer 2017 release)

Disgaea 5 Complete (TBD)

Ultra Street Fighter II: The Final Challengers (TBD)

 

I played at least 1 game that will release the same day as the Switch, along with others that will be out a little later.

Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild – I didn’t get to do too much during the 20 minute allotment for the game, but I loved the graphics and got a gist of the story line. The game was played using the Joy-Con grip, which results in a traditional style controller when the two smaller ones are attached to it.

Mario Kart 8 Deluxe – This was played using the console in handheld mode. It felt similar to using the Wii U, but a lot less bulky. I missed out on some of the button functions because the staff member explained them to me a bit too fast before I started. Nevertheless, I was able to play through a few races with this game. Very fun!

Splatoon 2 – I’m already a fan of the first Splatoon game, so I definitely look forward to playing this once it’s released. Expect to see new battle areas, characters, and weapons. Players can also take advantage of local and multiplayer battles using the Switch in either TV, handheld, or tabletop mode.

Ultra Street Fighter II: The Final Challengers – This game is also adding more characters to their lineup, 2 in particular being Evil Ryu and Violent Ken. Choose either classic pixel-art or updated graphics to customize how you play. Can’t take down a certain CPU player? You can now team up with a friend to show them who’s boss.

Puyo Puyo Tetris – I wasn’t at all familiar with Puyo Puyo (think of match 3/more games like Candy Crush), but I got the hang of it and had a blast playing a few rounds. Do your best to clear as many lines as possible to beat either the CPU or other players. Up to 4 can participate for a competitive gaming experience like no other. This is a must have for any fan of puzzle games.

 


Although there was still time left before the next wave of attendees were let in, I felt confident checking off what I wanted to do at the event. And I was given even more free goodies on my way out. I gotta say this was quite the experience, and I had an awesome time trying out this console. I will definitely consider purchasing one, but probably not until some time after its release. Although there are a few features I wish it could keep (e.g. free online multiplayer service and streaming via Netflix), aside from that, it’s promising. The last leg of the Nintendo Switch Preview Tour will take place in Los Angeles this weekend between March 3 – March 5. For those of you in the area, I highly recommend that you check it out. More info about the Nintendo Switch Preview Tour can be found here.

switch preview tour swag

Nintendo Switch swag, FTW.

 

The following two tabs change content below.

Rhia Reyes

Geeky with a side of awesome. Born and raised in the Bay Area.

Latest posts by Rhia Reyes (see all)

Tagged with:

Comment Here